USPS, The Fifth Week in the No Longer New Abnormal

Janet Zinn
3 min readJan 28, 2024

“To write is human, to receive a letter: Divine!”
Susan Lendroth

Yesterday evening I dropped a card off at the midtown east post office. I was late in sending it and the post office was close to my plans for the evening. For years I’ve passed by the public sculpture out front. But I didn’t expect sculptures inside the post office. It was a nice surprise.

I love when life throws a curve ball and I’m there to catch it. It’s a rare occasion. Yet every so often, like last night, I was able to enjoy some unexpected art. I shouldn’t have been surprised. The artwork of the stamps have become more beautiful as time has passed. Long gone are the days of blue rolls of five cent George Washington portraits.

--

--

Janet Zinn

NYC Psychotherapist, writer, wife, mother, & more...